I figure I should chime in on this thread, as I have some experience with tattoos.

1) It doesn't matter where you get it, the sh!t hurts regardless, anyone who tells you their tattoo didn't hurt is a liar. The level of pain and type of pain do change depending on the spot. Inner forearms are more of a pinching sharp pain, Outer forearms are more of a blunt pain. I do not find getting my outer forearms tattooed very bad, but inner and close to the wrist is very sharp, feels almost like it's a cutting, not much of a fan haha.

2) Ass cheeks are actually very painful to get tattooed. Your butt is covered almost your entire life, it is not exposed to the elements very much at all, and thus it hasn't built up a tolerance or "callus" for pain. I've tattooed 4 or 5 butt cheeks in the last couple years, and none of them were fun for the client, haha. Another example is the stomach, the stomach is a soft spot, lots of muscle or fat there, but hurts like a mother fracker when getting tattooed. I've seen some pretty tough guys make some real bad faces and have to take a lot of breaks during a 2 or 3 hour session.

3) Never choose a spot on your body based on the pain, the pain is really not so bad unless you get it in some of the bad places. I've got my forearms, biceps, elbows, palm, shoulders, neck, feet, legs, thighs, chest, penis, hands, fingers, etc, all tattooed, they were all uncomfortable but all worth it and I didn't die (although, while getting my palm tattooed, I definitely wanted to haha). Depending on the type of tattoo you want to get, different parts of the body work better when it comes to flow of a tattoo, how it looks.