February 12, 2002 01:50 am UTC
Montreal, Canada
O
Oscar Frias Offline OP
Oscar Frias  Offline OP
O
Montreal, Canada
Hiya folks!

As the title says, the brake pedal is almost touching the floor board. I can lock up the the brakes, but that requires a ton of effort. Any suggestions as to what this could be? Brake fluid is at max, & no squealing from the brake pads.

BTW, I'm a newbie at this Talon-thing. Are all TSI AWD Talons have ABS?

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Oz

Re: Excessive Pedal Effort when Braking... #95958
February 12, 2002 02:02 am UTC
February 12, 2002 02:02 am UTC
Hamilton
A
Amin Ahmadi Offline
Insane Member
Amin Ahmadi  Offline
Insane Member
A
Hamilton
You might have a leak in the boost line in it is taking TOO MUCH effort to stop, but that doesn't increase the distance the pedal travels. I would look for some air in the system if it's spongy.

has it ever been low on brake fluid?

What year is it?

Re: Excessive Pedal Effort when Braking... #95959
February 12, 2002 02:33 am UTC
February 12, 2002 02:33 am UTC
Montreal, Canada
O
Oscar Frias Offline OP
Oscar Frias  Offline OP
O
Montreal, Canada
Well, I just bought the car 3 weeks ago without touching the brake fluid. So, I guess it's safe to assume that it's not leaking somewhere...but I could be wrong.

In any case, I forgot to mention the details. It's a '90 Talon TSI AWD Turbo.

Here's something I also forgot to mention. Compared to my '90 Acura Integra, the pedal distance required before I could feel the brakes engage are fairly the same. However, with the Integra, the brakes respond really well that I do not require more brake pressure to stop properly. With the Talon, I feel the engagement, but it's very faint and weak. This forces me to apply more brake pressure to the point that the brake pedal is touching my floor mat.

I'm hoping this problem is pretty simple to fix.

Thanks,

Oz

Re: Excessive Pedal Effort when Braking... #95960
February 12, 2002 02:58 am UTC