July 05, 2004 09:46 am UTC
July 05, 2004 09:46 am UTC
Waterdown/Hamilton Ontario
Justin Howe Offline OP
Serious Member
Justin Howe  Offline OP
Serious Member
I am editing my post about a turbo I had purchased off of Wess. I had been told it was in perfect shape from Wes and Marco at Magnus, but to my consideration after having it inspected by a member on this board; turns out it is in no condition to be sold due to the fact that it is blown. I fully trusted both of them as I have very little knowledge of turbos. I checked for sideways shaft play and it seemed ok but i did not check for up and down shaftplay. There was so much play that the compressor wheel actually grinded about a mm of material out of the inner housing. The member on this board took it to the turbo shop to inspect it and see what the initial cost of the repair would be. Turns out the approximate cost of a full repair would be around $1,200. The fact is these knowledgeable persons were trusted. However, now I am left with a blown turbo that is useless. I am not trying to say that it is these peoples fault, and this may have just been a mistake. Marco had assumed that the turbo was in perfect shape and told Wes that it had been, even though he probably never examined it, before hand due to the fact that the turbo was not blowing any oil. The fact is everything was to be in perfect condition, and was not. Therefore, all i want is my money back and this ordeal to be over with.

1997 Eagle Talon TSi AWD R.I.P.
New car 1997 Eagle Talon Tsi AWD
Re: Wes swanson & Magnus #150813
July 05, 2004 08:58 pm UTC
July 05, 2004 08:58 pm UTC
Unionville
Wes Swanson Offline
Wes Swanson  Offline
Unionville
thanks for the write up justin ... sorry it took a little longer than planned but my car took a while to get finnished ... justin was very understanding of my position, and was patient throughout so for good measure I threw in a free injen intake ....

two thumbs up for justin

95 Talon