August 11, 2000 05:28 am UTC
August 11, 2000 05:28 am UTC
spokane
M
matt young Offline OP
matt young  Offline OP
M
spokane
Sorry for posting this here guys but i seem to get faster responses this way [Linked Image] Ok number one is I am still running the stock 14b in my talon. Do I need the heat sheild on? I snapped two of the bolts off [Linked Image] Have any of you done this. I am a welder and work at a machine shop so ill try and drill, and tap them tomorrow. Please tell me I dont have to take the manifold off to do this!!

Number two. I was looking at my turbo tonight, and I noticed that there seems to bee a little crusty seeped oil in between the in the middle around where the oil return runs down to the oil pan, but it doesnt seem to be coming from the tube itself. Is there a seal between the hot and the cold side of the turbo? I mean if the thrust bearing was on its way out(dying) would it leak out as well as in? I doesnt actually drip it is just a bit oily/grimy looking. Should i not mess with it till Im ready for a 16g? Ok any help would be great.

BTW I have hardly any shaft play when I tried to wiggle it.

Thanks Matt

[This message has been edited by matt young (edited August 11, 2000).]

talon owner once again 1991 tsi talon
Re: Please HELP ...thrust bearing? #185274
August 12, 2000 12:58 pm UTC
August 12, 2000 12:58 pm UTC
Halifax, NS
Troy Jollimore Offline
Senior Member, with Far TOO Much Time on Their Hands
Troy Jollimore  Offline
Halifax, NS
Which heat shield? Upper or lower? If it's upper, you could easily drill out those bolts and retap is necessary while still attached to the car. If it's the lower one, oi... But you don't *need* either of them. They do keep things a little cooler under the hood, though.

Re: Please HELP ...thrust bearing? #185275
August 12, 2000 02:30 pm UTC
August 12, 2000 02:30 pm UTC

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A